Christian’s Birth Story

“Heaven blew every trumpet
and played every horn
on the wonderful, marvelous
night you were born”
~Nancy Tillman

My darling Christian, this is the story of the day you were born.

At my last appointment when my doctor checked me I was still not dilated or effaced at all, which was good news for me since I was waiting for Nana to get here and stay with Robinson while I was the hospital having you. Nana flew to Houston the Friday night before you were born and we had a fun weekend together. We got a pedi, went out to lunch at our favorite place, Sandy MaGee’s, and did some shopping. The weather was great the whole time she was here and her and Robinson had a ball together. It was a huge help and blessing to have her down here for 10 whole days!

Mama was scheduled for a repeat c/section on the morning of the 27th. I went to bed on the night of the 26th at about 11 PM, and at 2:30 AM I woke up and couldn’t go back to sleep I was way too nervous and excited. At 4:00 AM I finally got up and got in the shower. We left the house and arrived at the hospital at 5:30 AM. On the drive there I made my Daddy tell me funny stories while we listened to Katy Perry’s new song Part of Me so Mama could try to calm her nerves. It was so funny to walk up to the Labor and Delivery doors and tell them I was there to have a c/section, like it was an everyday thing.

Our nurses took us back to a little waiting room by the operating room where I changed into my gown and got prepped for the main event. When they hooked me up to the monitor I was having regular contractions every 6-8 minutes the whole 2 hours I was waiting, so it looks like you were ready to be born my little man. While they were trying to get an IV line going in my left arm, the nurse in-training blew out one of my veins, which ended up being very painful and I will admit, made me cry. The other nurse came over and tried on the other side of my left arm, but something went wrong with that as well and the fluid didn’t go in my vein, but ended up filling my arm instead. This was crazy and made my arm numb, and heavy to where I could hardly lift my arm, and my hand was shaky and I had a hard time opening and closing my hand. They quickly pulled that line out and tried my right arm where they were able to get an IV line going good. It took another couple of hours for the pain and numbness to go away in my left arm.

My Doctor, Dr. Cole, came in at about 7:35 to check on me and she said she was ready to go. I had to leave Daddy behind and walk to the OR alone, which was the most terrifying part. The room was so bright, and cold, and I knew they were about to do a major surgery, and it was a little scary at first. Once they got me numbed and ready they let Daddy come in, which was such a huge relief, it was so nice to see him and have him near me, he can always calm me down and make me feel like everything is going to be ok. I told him to watch as much as he could of your birth, so he stood most of the time looking over the curtain. It was fun to have him tell me about it once we got back to the room.

We knew you were a big baby, so the nurse had to push extremely hard on the top of my belly to get you down to where the doctor could pull you out. Once your head was out they were all telling me what a cute boy you were, and then when they finally pulled you all the way out at 8:04 AM everyone was raving about how big and cute you were. The nurse quickly wrapped you in a warm blanket and brought you right over for me to see before they even cleaned you up which I loved! You were fresh, new and darling as could be. You had the dark hair, and daddy’s chin just like I told everyone you would, and those little cheeks of yours were to die for!

They hurried and cleaned you up and Daddy carried you over to me. You know those defining moments in your life that will forever be burned into your memory, the ones you look back on and they fill your heart with joy? Well that for me is when I see Daddy carry our babies over to me for the first time, and the look of love, pride and happiness on his face when he is holding our newborns is amazing, it is pure love!

I was able to see you and kiss you for a minute before Daddy took you to the nursery to be checked out. They called the OR and told us that you weighed in at 9lbs and 10oz and were 22 inches long.

They finished sewing me up and took me to recovery where I was hoping to get to hold you for the 1st time and nurse you, but things don’t always go as planned. You were having a hard time breathing because with a c/section the babies have a hard time getting all the fluid out of the lungs and it makes it hard for them to breathe so they had to keep you in the nursery. While there they checked your sugar levels and yours were extremely low so they had to give you some formula to get it back up. You were born at 8:04 AM, and I didn’t get to hold you in my arms until 1:30 that afternoon. It was the longest wait of my life. I broke down in tears when they finally wheeled you into my room and I knew you were ok and that I could finally snuggle my boy.

That first day in the hospital was pretty tough for Mama. They had to give me some extra anesthesia in the operating room because I started to experience some pain once your were born, so getting the extra medicine out of my body was really rough. But by the 2nd day I was feeling much better!

You have been such a blessing in our lives already. You are so calm and peaceful, and there is just something about your gentle spirit. It is amazing the love that I have for you my new little man, and it is equally amazing how my love for Daddy and my Robinson also expanded with your birth. We are over the moon happy!

2 thoughts on “Christian’s Birth Story

  1. That is such a sweet story. I could just feel the love that you have for your husband and your two beautiful little boys, and it almost made me cry. Thank you for sharing. You are such a sweet person and such a strong women. Thanks again this was amazing!

  2. Touching! I love birth stories, there is something magical and precious! Thanks for sharing! Hope you guys are doing well… I miss you!

Leave a Reply

