750 Mile Challenge, and a hair question

At work, my department (there are only 2 of us, but we still get to call ourselves a department) we started this challenge for all of the employees.  If you can walk/run/bike, whatever for 750 miles in one year you can earn an extra 8 hours of personal leave.  So because I have this strange guilt complex about everything in life, I feel like I HAVE to do this challenge, like I have to be some sort of example or something like that.  Anyway I have been doing pretty good so far, of course this only started 3 weeks ago, but I am trying to get at least 5 miles a day, and with the help of my trusty pedometer, oh that’s right, I wear a pedometer everyday, I think I might actually be able to do this.  So I will be starting a new page to track my progress on here. 

On to my hair question.  Today I went in to get my hair cut and colored.  6 weeks ago was my very first appointment at this beauty saloon and I did the same thing, cut and color.  Well I about died when I went up to pay and it cost me $115.  But I thought well ok, it took her 2 bottles of color because my hair is so long, that must be why the cost.  But today I told her that I only wanted to touch up my roots and then just a light trim.  She said my color was holding really well and that I could start going every 8 weeks instead of 6.  Great, but then when I went to pay again today, it still cost me $99!  And she only used 1/2 a bottle.  So here is my question, is that a lot, or is that normal?  I used to have my cousin always do my hair for me and I don’t live by her anymore, and then our friend Lindsey did it, but she is gone for the summer, so this is all new to me.  I just don’t love paying that much money when I don’t feel like she did that much work.  Oh well.

7 thoughts on “750 Mile Challenge, and a hair question

  1. That sounds like an awful lot. I know my hair stylist charges by how many foils she puts in. Did you have highlights or all over color? My last appointment I was charged $75 I think and then I gave her a $10 tip for a cut and highlights. Email me a pic of your hair! I don’t think I’ve ever seen it a different color.

  2. Ouch! That seems like a lot to me but let’s be honest… I am cheap and it probably shows. 🙂 I am excited about your new blog!

  3. On a completely different note, I really love your pictures. Where did you start? I know photoshop somewhat, I just don’t have a knowledge of photography. What is your photography bible?

  4. Yeah it was just all over color, no highlights for anything. I thought it was really a lot of money too. I don’t know if my hair looks too different, but maybe I am just used to the color by now. But I will send you a picture.

    Kayla,
    I love anything by Scott Kelby. I have a couple of his books, one on digital photography, and one on Photoshop. I also get Photoshop magazine. But mostly, one of my goals since I got my new camera has been to shot in Manual all the time. It has been totally frustrating, but I have learned a lot, and think my pictures turn out much better this way. I still have a ton to learn. Do you check the Pioneer Woman’s website? She has a photo site and it is helpful, I also love to check Jessica Claire’s website, mostly for ideas, she doesn’t do tutorials, but takes amazing pictures. So mostly a lot of trial and error! If you ever want help on anything just let me know.

  5. Caroline-

    I love, love your pics!! I really want you to have to come to Utah for some reason and then we’d have you do some family pictures for us! Sorry about your hair issue. She’s overcharging you. No questions asked. I have a ton of hair and they still don’t charge me that much. I guess the important thing is that you like your cut and color. So do you?

  6. Carolyn — That does seem like quite a bit but a lot of salons have gotten more expensive. I’m sorry I had to leave for the summer but I can do it for you when I get back and it would be a lot cheaper (I’m not sure that the result would be as good though) Anyway, I want to see pictures of it! Glad you started a blog.

  7. Brooke,
    I would love to do pictures for you, and I would totally love to do some of Paige in her tutu, it was so adorable! We will try to plan something.

    Hi Lindsey,
    I am sure the results will be great, I can’t wait to have you back to do it for me!

Leave a Reply

