YW Lesson #39 Recognizing Our Individual Worth

I had 2 weeks off from teaching thanks to Conference and Fast Sunday, but I am back and ready to go.

For my lesson this week I have decided that I am going read the girls the book You Are Special by Max Lucado.  I’m sure that everyone has heard it before, but I feel like it really reinforces everything we are trying to teach in this lesson.  

You Are Special (Max Lucado's Wemmicks)

For my treat this week I bought mini boxes of Dots for the girls.  I found a whole bag of them down the Halloween candy aisle.  These ties back into the children’s book I am reading them.  I am going to talk about not only the dots that we give to others, but those that we give to ourselves.  I will tell the girls how we need to learn to love ourselves and make sure that we don’t hand out dots to anyone. 

 DOTS Original Chewy Candy

 And finally for my handout this week I used the quote from the lesson by Marvin J. Ashton.  I didn’t tie it to the treat this week because I wanted something they could keep in their scriptures or put on their mirror at home.  Also I got the cute paper from http://www.shabbyprincess.com/downloads.asp

CLICK HERE TO DOWNLOAD THE HANDOUT: individual-worth2  (requires Adobe Reader)

Click here for my SugarDoodle Link.

 YW2 

 

YW

 

Please take a minute and visit my friend Wendy’s adoption blog.  They are trying to adopting their 2nd baby and it would mean a lot if you would check it out and pass it on to anyone you know!  Wendy, Spencer & Roman 

 

 

13 thoughts on “YW Lesson #39 Recognizing Our Individual Worth

  1. Thank you so much for the idea!! I was having trouble getting this lesson together and re-did the enter lesson Saturday night to go along with this!! Thank you! Thank you!!

  2. I love your YW ideas! I loved the handout for the recent marriage lesson and used it for my Laurels. Thank You so much for your effort and especially for being so willing to share! This one is so cute- dots! Thanks so much again and have a great week. 🙂

  3. When I first read over this lesson I instantly thought of “You are Special” then I second guessed myself. I decided to search online for other ideas out there….this is the first idea I pulled up! I think I am suppose to read the book =D I love the Dot candy idea. Thanks!

  4. Thanks Maren,
    My girls really loved that I read the story to them. I think it goes really well with the lesson. Good luck!

  5. I have never seen your blog before, but I happen to come across it when I googled Individual Worth. This was an amazing idea and will definitely use parts of this lesson. Thank you for saving my life!

Leave a Reply

