Look What the Slacker Wife Tried to Make

I have been wanting to try Bakerella’s cake pops forever.  They look so cute and good.  So the other night I decided to try and make them.  This being my first time making them I was overly optimistic on how long they would take to get done.  I started them around 4:30 and thought I was going to be able to make them for YW that night by 7.  I was very, very wrong.  I was lucky to get them rolled out into balls and in the freezer by 7.  When I got home I had to re-roll them to make them look better.  By that time it was way to late to finish them so I had to wait until I got home the next night to dip them.  This part was hard, I don’t know how Bakerella does it.  Hers look so smooth and awesome.

CP2 

  My chocolate melts started to thicken up after the first 3 and then it was all gooey and messy after that.  As a result the little cake balls wouldn’t stay on the sticks because the chocolate was too heavy.

 CP1

  So after getting a few to stay on the sticks I decided that was way too much work for just John and I, so I dipped the rest and put them back on the cookie sheet with no stick.  Not to mention that I made some of the balls a little too big.  Next time I will make smaller sized ones and try to figure out a way to keep the chocolate smooth for longer.

 CP3

  But they really are good, I mean like really good.  I have eaten like 10 of the stupid things.  So next time I won’t make them unless I have some place to take them so John and I don’t eat them all.  But they were fun to make, and I am pretty proud of myself for trying them. 

Things I am thankful for today:

I am thankful that I have a day off, and no plans to fill it.  I might even stay in my pajamas all day, I haven’t made up my mind yet.

2 thoughts on “Look What the Slacker Wife Tried to Make

  1. I have wanted to make these for a long time also. But I was afraid of what the end result would look like. Now I have a few tips on what to do and not do, so maybe I will get the courage to try them. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

