Homemade Christmas Ornaments

This summer at a sidewalk sale I bought a Hallmark Christmas book and it had a cute idea about hanging old family Christmas pictures on the tree.  They had them mounted on card stock and looked really cute, but I decided to do mine in actual picture frames.  I bought the frames at the dollar store over in the wedding section.  They are supposed to be used for place cards, and they have a bunch of different styles.  I didn’t want them to all look the same so I picked out the 5 I like the best.  They were silver when I bought them, but my tree is done in golds so I painted them using Krylon Satin Ivory spray paint.  After they dried I took off the little prop-up stand things on the back and hot glued ribbon so they would hang from the tree.  I already had a bunch of old family pictures scanned and saved on my computer which made it faster for me to do. I didn’t print them on photo paper, just card stock for now.  But I think they turned out fun and next year when I have time I might try doing them again but with some embellishments. 

This is my Great Grandma Emily, and she will always remind me of all things Christmas.

frame5

 

This is my Dad and his family.  I loved the black and white.

Frame4

 

This is me and my cousin with my Great Grandma Emily on Christmas Eve at Grandma Delsa’s house.  We were all in our matching pajamas that we got that night.  I am the one in the front middle. 

frame3

 

This is a picture of my mom with her Christmas presents.  I love this picture of her.

frame2

 

Here is another one of my mad and his family on Christmas morning.

frame1

 

4 thoughts on “Homemade Christmas Ornaments

  1. I thought it would be cute to have the kids do one for themselves and pick our their favorite Christmas picture. If you do it you will have to blog about it too so I can see!

  2. I am LOVING this idea!!! I have a thing with old pictures anyway so this totally fits me! I am going to have to find some frames.

    Also, your candle will be in the mail first thing Monday morning so hopefully you have it by the middle to end of the week. Sorry I am slow getting it to you. We were out of town for a couple of days and the rest of my week- well I am not sure were it went!

  3. Lyndi you don’t have to worry about getting it to me, I am just super excited that I won, so thank you SO much! Plus if you can’t find frames in SV I can get you some here and mail them to you. Just let me know!

Leave a Reply

