Just Call Me Angela

Randa says that I am now Angela from The Office because I am the party planner for the City here.  My office, which consists only of my boss and I, are always in charge of the big Christmas and summer parties.  I do like a good party, and I like to be the boss and be in charge and all, but let’s be honest, I need WAY more than me and 1 other person for this job because holy mighty I was so exhausted by the time I got home today I could have died.  Start to finish I had to order the food, reserve the building, find and reserve the entertainment, order the cakes, make the flyer’s, make the programs, make the entry tickets for the drawing, decorate, clean up, and serve the food.  It was a long day!  

I know I talk about this nice man that I married and you are all probably sick of hearing about it and all, but he has his last final tomorrow and when he came home for his short hour dinner break he offered to massage my feet for me because I was stupid enough to wear super cute high heels again when I shouldn’t have.  You would think I would learn my lesson, but I don’t.  

But the party turned out really good considering I work for a municipality and I am super limited on my budget.  I am my mother’s daughter which means I have to have at least a few decorations or I will break out in hives.  Really, it is like a disorder, hives all over.  I was able to borrow all the table cloths from another department, and years ago HR had bought all these glass vases so I dug them out and used them again.

Party5

I bought some peppermint candies to toss on the table, flowers, and cranberries to decorate. I have to make due with the bouquets of flowers you can get at Wal-Mart since they are the cheapest.  I wore a huge blister on my finger cutting the stems off these bad boys to make them fit in the smaller vases.  Don’t worry I plan on filing a Workers Comp claim tomorrow!  I love to use cranberries at Christmas to decorate. For the large flowers I put fresh cranberries in the bottom of the vase before putting water in to make it look prettier.

Party2

I also only budgeted enough money for flowers to do my large arrangement, plus 7 small ones. So for the other 4 I used these glass holders I bought this summer and filled them with pine cones that my Landlady brought me back from her summer trip. I put in a few cranberries and tied it with this adorable ribbon that my friend KaLee used to wrap the Christmas gift she gave John and I the day before. Thanks for the gift and the ribbon KaLee!!

Party

We were lucky enough to have the event at this beautiful facility which is an old carriage house at a mansion here, and because we are a non-profit entity we got it for a deal, only $150 total!  These pictures don’t do it justice at all, but you can kind of get the idea. They saved this old bar from a building they were tearing down and restored it.

Party6

They also decorate it for Christmas and they had the tree and the lights strung around the room.

Party3

Every year our mayor donates all the money he makes from being mayor and lets us use it to do a Christmas drawing.  The most you could win is $20, but it is a nice gesture, and everyone seems to really love it.  This year I put the money in envelopes and printed off these really cute vintage Christmas tags by Rhonna Farrer to put on the outside of every envelope.  I found them for free on 2 Peas in a Bucket.  They turned out really cute too!

 RhonnaFarrer_2ps_DSDFreeTags copy

We had a huge turnout this year, so overall it was a good party.  And in 6 more months I get to do another one! 

4 thoughts on “Just Call Me Angela

  1. That turned out beautiful! You’re hard work and stress paid off! Next time I have an event you know I’ll be calling you 🙂

  2. You are so dang talented!!! I love how you can just come up with this stuff off the top of your head & with whatever you happen to have in the closet!

    Did you get your candle? I just want to make sure it didn’t get lost in the mail. You should have gotten hopefully last week, let me know if you didn’t!

  3. Thanks Linds!

    Emily I hear you on the ward Christmas party thing. I love a pretty party.

    Lyndi Thanks! I did get my candle, I am sorry I am such a freak and didn’t write you to let you know. I was going to….but I suck, so I am SO sorry! Thanks again so much for that, I love it!

Leave a Reply

