Things To Look Forward To In 2009

I haven’t set New Year’s resolutions for the last couple of years because I had become quite cynical about the whole situation.  I mean why set yourself up for failure year after year I thought.  I was bitter about failed goals and dreams that no matter how many times I said were going to happen that year, never did.  So I gave up on it.  I decided to protest and not ever set resolutions again, and I was good with that.  I wallowed in my self pity this way, and I was perfectly content to do so.  I have decided to look at it a little differently this  year.  I have decided that there must be a happy medium.  So instead of setting goals with specific numbers and quantifiable outcomes, I am going to set goals that make me better without numbers, finish lines or a certain amount of pounds.  So for 2009 I:

  • Will spend more time with my husband.  This means spending less time at the computer while he is home and more time doing whatever we choose as long as it is together.
  • Will work on becoming more spiritual, and learn to let go.
  • Will find more peace, and create more peace in my home and at work and places I am at.  I hate contention and I am going to be more proactive in creating peace. 
  • Will gossip less.  Let’s be honest, we all do this, and it is hard to stop, but I vow to be more aware and to learn to do this less. 
  • Will be more positive, more optimistic.  This is going to be tough for me as I have always been more of the glass is almost freakin empty.  I am not bubbly and happy and shiny, I am doom and gloom and I am going to work on this.  Don’t laugh I swear, I am!
  • Will finish my 750 mile challenge that I started in July for work.  I would like to actually exceed this number.  Not only that, but this is something that I would like to continue on the entire year even though my contest ends in June. 
  • Will work harder at being a better photographer.  I will study harder, and practice more.  This is something that I love doing and even if I don’t ever make a full fledged business out of it, I want to be not only good, I want to be amazing at it which means I have to work harder. 
  • Will be a better cook, and housekeeper.  I will learn to try new things and be brave and cook chicken when John isn’t here to help me not screw it up.  Honestly who would have thought that chicken would be so hard to cook.  I am really paranoid about salmonella so I cook it until it turns to jerky to make sure all the germs are gone.  So I will work on being a better cook, and with becoming more confident in this area. 

I know I am 8 days late with my list, maybe I should add stop procrastinating on my list, but I won’t. 

  

4 thoughts on “Things To Look Forward To In 2009

  1. My only advice, get a meat thermometer 🙂 I use to have the same problem with chicken, now I just use my handy dandy thermometer, it is even digital.

  2. Hi Caroline. I’m just a fan of your website (I use it for help teaching my Beehive lessons). I’m also trying to get into photography, and I’m wondering how you learned how to do it? Any advice you could give to a newbie like me would be greatly appreciated.

  3. Hey Erin,
    I don’t know how much advice I can give, but I will try. I learned mostly by a lot of trial and error. I made it a goal of mine to only shoot in Manual until I finally figured it out. I also found some photography boards and lurked like crazy picking up new ideas and tips all the time. Baby Center used to have a great photographing your family board, it slowed down a bit when the switched to their new format, but I think it is picking back up again. Here is a link: http://community.babycenter.com/groups/a3045/photographing_your_family?
    I bought some books, the Scott Kelby books are always great reads and you don’t get too bogged down. I also have some favorite photographers who I follow their blogs, and who I try like crazy to get my pictures to look like. Jessica Claire is my very favorite. I love to edit and have been using Photoshop for longer than I have had a DSLR camera.
    One book that I like fairly well is called Digital Photographer’s handbook by Tom Ang.
    I don’t know if this helped or not, but please let me know if you have more questions, I love talking about it. You can always e-mail me too at carolinebeth20@hotmail.com.
    Thanks for stopping by my blog!
    ~Carolyn

Leave a Reply

