Do I Have A Void In My Life?

I often wonder if I am missing out on life for not reading certain books and watching their subsequent big budget movies.  I hear all the time that I “have to read this book” or that I “must watch that movie” and I find myself wondering if I am really missing out or not.  I am not going to lie, 99% of the time I choose to not read these books after the like 20th person has told me that I “have” to.  I am stubborn that way.  It then turns into this hilarious creature all its own because once I set my heels in and refuse it drives certain people crazy.  Here is my list of books and movies that I have never seen.  

  • The DaVinci Code
  • Harry Potter
  • Lord of the Rings
  • Twilight

 I need you to tell me which ones I am fine not reading or watching, and which ones really should be on my reading list.  Are there ones that you would recommend just the book or just the movie or do you think I need to do both?

6 thoughts on “Do I Have A Void In My Life?

  1. Here is my take. I am a huge fan of the Harry Potter books! The last book in the series is probably the best book I have ever read! The movies of course do not compare to the books, but they really aren’t bad. I would recommend reading the books then seeing the movies. I also loved the Twilight trilogy, but I hated the movie (I know I am going to get boooed for that comment) The movie was so low budget and cheesey, you could skip it and be just fine. I have read some of the Lord of the Rings, but it was hard to read (not my type of book) I loved the movies though and would definetly watch them. As for the DiVinci Code, I haven’t read the book or seen the movie. Clay read the book and enjoyed it. There is my opinion, take it or leave it 🙂

  2. Yeah Carolyn! I’m like you in that I hate it when people tell me I “have to” read or see something. I haven’t read any of the books you listed, but I have seen some of the movies; Da Vinci Code (good movie-interesting premise), Lord of the Rings (okay, for crazy fiction stuff) and I think the first and second Harry Potters with my nephew. I refuse to read or see Twilight. It doesn’t even sound interesting to me. Here’s my other thing…I know that there are avid readers out there, but for me it’s not my favorite hobby, plus, I really have other things (i.e. like my scriptures) that I need to read more diligently, so that’s what I try to read.

  3. Ok, so I LOVE to read but am not a ton of help here as I have not read Harry Potter, or Lord of the Rings (not really my thing). I did read Twilight and really liked them (although I am not a crazy fan like a lot of people….just read them and enjoyed them…no obsession). I really have not talked to anyone that read them and did not like them so I would say to give them a try. The person that shared them with me told me to give the first book 100 pages and see if you can put it down. I have not read the Da Vinci Code but Chase did and really liked it. If you are ever looking for good reads you should ask KaLee. She has shared some great ones with me.

  4. Well you know from some of my previous posts that I’m not into the whole sci-fi or fantasy thing. I buckled under the pressure and eventually just this last year saw all of the Harry Potter and Lord of the Rings movies. I actually liked Lord of the Rings better. I liked the DaVinci Code for the insight into the theories but then using the gospel to disprove them. And I have no desire to get into the whole Twilight thing. 🙂

  5. Forgot to mention I also saw all of the Star Wars movies last year. In order of preference: 1-Star Wars, 2-Lord of the Rings, 3-Harry Potter.

  6. Thanks for all the input ladies!

    I honestly thought I was the last person alive who hadn’t read Twilight yet. Glad to hear I am not alone!

Leave a Reply

