iTunes=Crack

I have a well documented addiction to iTunes.  It has been a love affair from the start.  I used to buy an entire CD for the 1, maybe 2 songs that I liked and the rest never got played.  Which meant that I ended up paying like $8 for each of my 2 songs.  Not very good from an economical standpoint. 

So when iTunes came along it was like angels singing from the heavens.  It was my answer to all things music and I love all things music.  I love new music and I love to change my music.  Some might say that I change music more than most people change their underwear, or maybe it was only my dad that said stuff like that.  Anyways, once my love affair with iTunes was born it has only blossomed and grown into a deep meaningful relationship.  At least that is what I thought until I was on Yahoo news today and to my horror I saw that iTunes raised their prices.  I felt cheated on, unimportant, sad, angry.  How could they do this to me I screamed, I have poured hundreds of my dollars into their piggy bank over the last few years, did that count for nothing? 

They had this planned all along, they are like drug dealers who deal to little kids.  They give you cheap tunes just long enough to get you hooked and then WAM they raise their prices because they know you are so far gone you can’t quit them.  Who in their right mind can quit now?  They know full well that I am stuck with them, and without a full blown intervention and some serious therapy I will be a lifer. 

Am I being unreasonable?  Am I the only one who thinks that a jump from $.99 to $1.29 is a huge jump?  Especially in an economy like this?  I know that I will never be able to quit them for good, but I tell you what, this is definitely going to make me cut back and think twice before I push the buy button.  Stupid iTunes! 

Leave a Reply

