8 Years Ago…

It was 8 years ago today that I met the man who would one day be the love of my life, my best friend, and my husband for eternity, and it was all thanks to a blind date. 

My BFF Terri and I were living in SLC and she was dating a kid from back home who was friends with John and they decided to set us up.  I wasn’t so hot on blind dates, in fact I think I might have sworn them off like a month before.  But being not so big on resolve, and a little bored I said yes. 

Terri and I drove to Preston to have dinner and hang out with them.  When we walked in the door John was hiding in the kitchen.  When he finally decided to grace me with his presence I was pleasantly surprised.  He was adorable and he was tall, like really tall.  What more could I ask for.  They cooked us a dinner of dutch oven potatoes, steak and cobbler.  It was delicious.

  John was the cook for the night and I figured he was really into his cooking and that was why he was avoiding me most of the day.  Over dinner I think he said maybe 1 word to me.  We went on a 4 wheeler ride up the canyon where he proceeded to say NO more words to me.  I was having a hard time getting a read on this guy.  He was so quite and shy I couldn’t beat a conversation out of him. 

But when we finally got back to the house, and right before Terri and I had to leave, out of the blue this guy who hadn’t hardly spoke to me the whole night decided to kiss me instead.  Moral of that story:  Words are overrated. 

So every year on this day John cooks me dutch oven potatoes, steak, and cobbler.  It is one of my favorite things to look forward to in April.  So happy first date anniversary to us!

8 years 002 copy 

8 thoughts on “8 Years Ago…

  1. That is so cute! I’m glad you didn’t swear off blind dates especially with your horrible experience @ Trolley! Ha ha, thanks for lunch again today, we will have to get together when you come in June!

  2. Jerrod says to tell Johnny thanks once again for setting an unattainable standard for all the men in this family to follow. 🙂

    You do realize how damned lucky you are right?

  3. This story made me cry for some odd reason. Maybe it was because Russ Didn’t even walk me to the door on our first date. and I had to ask him out on our next date. Maybe he just married me to shut me up! Who knows anyway that is the cutest story I have heard in a long time.

  4. That is so sweet. John always does the most thoughtful things. I’m so glad something good came out of my terrible relationship! 🙂

  5. That is a great first meeting! All of my blind dates were shorties! But I finally found my very tall man too. It was awesome to see your pregnancy announcement which brought some teary eyed reading. Have an awesome Sunday!!!

Leave a Reply

