The Good, The Bad, and The Ugly

I am talking about my flights both to and from Alaska.

For the flight there and back I had to get on 3 different planes.  I left my house last Wednesday at 3:00 to go to my little teeny local airport to catch a commuter plane to Denver.  From Denver I got on a little larger puddle jumper to SLC where there was a huge plane waiting to take me to Anchorage.  Here is what went down:

My teeny little plane ride from here wasn’t too terrible.  A little bumpy and hot, but all in all not as bad as I thought it would be.  This is GOOD, nothing bad or ugly with this leg of my journey.

I get to Denver, quickly find my gate on the message board and book it to that terminal.  On the way I spot someone eating ice cream and I decided that I might die without some so I duck into a store and pay $5 for one single scoop of ice cream in a cup only slightly larger than a shot glass.  Ice cream in hand I make it to my gate to see the word “Delayed” on the board.  This is BAD, way BAD.  I only have a 30 minute connection in SLC to make my plane to Anchorage.  I go to the ticket counter lady and ask her what is going on, “well we have a plane” she says all cheerful, “but no flight crew”.  The mean look and bad things I said about the ticket woman are UGLY and I won’t repeat them.  Well then who cares about the plane if I have no one to fly it!  I am almost on the verge of tears as the minutes tick by and my ice cream runs out.  I text my Aunt in SLC to let her know about my plane and see if there is any way I could stay with her that night.  Finally the flight crew saunters up all nonchalant and boards the plane.  Finally we get on and are in the air, this is GOOD.

The second we hit the ground in SLC I text John to check the status of my plane.  My flight is set to leave at 9:05 and we hit the ground at 9:03.  As we pull past the Delta gate I get a sick feeling watching a plane pull out, that very minute John sends me a text telling me they left.  What he texted about them is also UGLY and I won’t repeat it either.  The plane leaving me is BAD!  I paid almost $900 for this ticket, I had it planned out so I would get 4 full days with my husband who has been gone now for 11 weeks.  My eyes begin welling up with the biggest crocodile tears you have ever seen.  I get off the plane, walk to the ticket lady and ask her about my flight, just on a hope that maybe John was wrong.  Nope he was right, they left me.  She directs me to the next terminal where I can talk to customer service.  It is all over now, I am tired after working all day, I am starving, I am hot, I am freaking pregnant, and now I am bawling walking down the hallway.  Just plain flat out bawling, almost sobbing, but I was trying to restrain myself a little.  This folks, is UGLY.  Me bawling my eyes out all preggo and left in SLC is UGLY.  I get to the customer service phone and call the lady.  She gets me on another flight for 11:30 the next day.  She then tells me she can’t get me a hotel, that I will have to sleep in the airport.  I cry even harder telling her there is no way I am sleeping in the airport,  to get my bag, and my sweet aunt is going to save me and let me stay at her house.  This is GOOD.  It is GOOD to have sweet Aunts, and nice Cousins in SLC who will pick you up and take you back the next day.  Thanks Brooke and Alice!

Finally I get to Alaska.  John has called United and we now have $350 in credit with them.  This is GOOD because they totally screwed me out of a day with John and I hate them SO much.

Flight back has to be better right?  Holy crap I wouldn’t blog about it if it were. 

Anchorage to SLC not too bad, I was stuck in a middle seat but I made it out ok.  Nothing GOOD, BAD, or really UGLY about this part.

I get to SLC which I love that airport since I know it the best and it is small compared to Denver, so this is GOOD.  I have 1.5 hours this time so no sweat, also really GOOD.  I find my gate, get myself some lunch and wait it out.  Well then about the time I am supposed to board they tell me that we now have NO plane.  Nothing.  Wouldn’t be a big deal if I didn’t only have 45 minutes to catch my puddle jumper back home that night  BAD BAD BAD.  20 minutes later we have a plane and we are boarding.  I am thankful I am in row 3 so I can get off fast.  We get all boarded and ready when the captain comes on and says, “Well, due to the bad weather in Denver, DIA won’t let anyone in, we will have to wait for clearance”.  Holy no way this is happening to me again, there is just no way, BAD and UGLY thoughts again, but no tears yet so this is GOOD.  Another 20 minutes pass and we finally are clear for take off. 

We land 5 minutesbefore my next plane is supposed to leave.  The plane that will take me home, home to my sweet soft bed and pillows I had been missing.  Again totally GOOD I was only in row 3.  I get off and book it to the departure board to find my gate.  It is really far away and it says they are boarding already.  I run downstairs to the terminal just as I hear my name being called over the PA.  “Carolyn, Carolyn, your flight is leaving as scheduled and is already boarded, again your plane is going to depart as scheduled”, holy BAD if they leave me.  “Please for the love of all that is good in the world don’t leave me” I pray.  I get a good hold on my bag and I run, not jog, full fledged run down the all time longest hallway you have ever seen.  I don’t run when I am not pregnant, so running when I am pregnant is UGLY.  Seriously, I don’t care who you are, it is UGLY to see someone loaded down with bags, preggo, hair flying, and running full speed.  Not only was I running full speed, but I was doing it in flip flops, and we all know that to run in flip flops you have to curl your toes up and pray they will stay on, lucky for me they did.  The ticket people see me running and shout at me to see if I am on their flight, “YES”, I scream back.  They turn to the other gal and yell at her to open the door and have them hold the plane.  This is GOOD.  I fling my ticket at the lady and don’t even stop to get the O.K. I just keep running my brains out.  I finally get on the plane, hot, sweating, out of breath and my leg muscles are twitching from running in flip flops, but I don’t care because I am on my way home.  Sweet Hallelujah I am going home! 

Home, I get home and wait for my bag only to find out I have no bag.  They picked me up too fast to get my bag on the plane with me.  I am now without makeup, or a tooth brush, or the large majority of my pregnant clothes.  I walk up to the ticket counter yet again and tell the young man working that my bag isn’t there.  He tells me he is sorry, which is great but he has the biggest lisp I have ever heard, and he looks at me like he isn’t all put together right.  This is BAD and UGLY of me, but I start to giggle.  Not really at him so much, just at the whole bloody experience.  And every time he opens his mouth to say something to me I start to giggle harder until I almost have tears running down my face.  I was so tired and this was the perfect ending to my terrible travel story.  I mean how much more fitting could it get. 

Just FYI, I have flown at least 30-40 times in my life, and this is the first time I have ever missed a connection, or lost a bag.  Don’t worry I got my bag back today. 

I had an amazing time in Alaska with John and will be posting more about it this week, but I had to share this story first because start to finish it is awesome.

3 thoughts on “The Good, The Bad, and The Ugly

  1. Haha so I was laughing at the part when you said it was UGLY when you were running through the air port. And how it’s ugly for anyone weighted down with bags. And it totally is! There running with like 3 bags stuff flying out of every pocket, sometimes a
    kid in tow. And the best part is. They could probably make the same time walking at
    a controlled speed. Haha but I do love to watch people run.

  2. We were totally jipped out of a day together in Alaska but it sure makes a good story that will not soon be forgotten. Tiny boy will love to hear you tell about the time you were pregnant with him and had to run through the airport to catch your plane.

  3. 🙂 Thanks T I wish you could have seen it yourself you would have peed your pants!

    Poor tiny boy was hold on for dear life poor baby 🙂

Leave a Reply

