Alaska Day 1

I didn’t get to fly into Anchorage until about 3:00 on Thursday so we didn’t have much time that day.  We ran to John’s condo to change, drove to his work so I could meet his friends and see his office, and then drove to Girdwood for dinner and a tram ride at Alyeska Ski Resort. 

Alaska is absolutely amazing.  It is so much more beautiful than I ever thought it would be, it really was stunning.  It had also turned off cold a few days before I came and I had not packed very well for cold weather, but John had an extra coat that I could wear the whole time. 

Here we are on our way to meet John’s coworkers.

Alaska 2009

On our drive to Girdwood we saw all these people pulled off the side of the road staring at the water so we decided to stop and see what it was all about.  I was hoping it was a whale, but no such luck.  I guess it was like the highest tide of the year or something like that.  We didn’t stay too long.

Alaska 2009

Alaska 2009

Alaska 2009

ak1

Alaska 2009 by you.

Alaska 2009

Alaska 2009 by you.

I guess there was the biggest earthquake in the USA here in Alaska about 50 years ago and all the salt water from the ocean killed a bunch of trees.

Alaska 2009 by you.

We ate dinner at this great place that everyone talks about called The Double Musky to celebrate John’s birthday which was a couple days before.  We shared the biggest steak I have ever seen and the waiter told us we eat light because we shared.  This steak was the size of Texas, and 1/2 of it was not light!

Alaska 2009 by you.

Alaska 2009

After dinner we rode the tram at Alyeska and took some pictures from the top. 

Alaska 2009

Alaska 2009

Alaska 2009 by you.

Alaska 2009 by you.

Alaska 2009 by you.

View of the bay.

Alaska 2009 by you.

Alaska 2009

I have never seen more waterfalls and streams ever.  They are all over the place and they are so pretty!

Alaska 2009 by you.

Alaska 2009 by you.

3 thoughts on “Alaska Day 1

  1. Thanks T! I am going to start wearing the glasses more because my eyes are getting so bad I am going to have to. If John and I move to Alaska you can come and visit 🙂

  2. That was a good day even though it was cut short. I’m sure glad you came to Alaska and we were able to ride the tram in Girdwood.

Leave a Reply

