Alaska Day 2

The second day I was in Alaska we went on a harbor cruise to see the wildlife.  We had to drive to Seward which was a little over 2 hours away but the drive was so pretty you didn’t even notice.  The weather was really cold and rainy but we had an awesome time anyway.

ak15

IMG_6591 by you.

ak2

ak14

ak16

Here is our boat.

IMG_6621 by you.

We saw a few different animals while on our cruise.  There are loads of eagles there so we saw a lot of those.

ak3

Beautiful waterfalls.

ak4

Here we are on the boat at the very beginning before we started freezing.

ak17

ak5

ak13

We finally had to put on hats to brave going outside on the deck of the boat.  It was really cold and the rain and wind were pretty bad out on the ocean.

ak18

ak6

I didn’t have a big enough lens to get a good picture, but this is an otter back floating.

ak7

ak8

ak9

ak10

ak11

ak12

ak14

That is a glacier behind us.  Don’t mind that I am a shopping cart away from being a bag lady, I mean seriously look at that outfit 🙂

ak19

More animals.

ak15

After our boat ride we hiked up to a glacier.  It was pretty amazing to see one in real life.

ak23

IMG_6627 by you.

IMG_6628 by you.

On the drive back we stopped at this pretty spot to take more pictures.

ak16

ak17

ak21

On our drive back we were about 1 hour from home when traffic was totally stopped.  There was a fatal accident up the road and it took them 4.5 hours to get it cleaned up and the road opened again.  This was the sign we were stopped by the whole time.  

When we left Seward we bought me some huge 1.5 liter waters because I was dying of thirst.  I guzzled one all the way down thinking we were going to be home in no time.  Bad idea when I am not pregnant, really bad idea when I am.  I am not an outside girl at all, so the thought of having to pee in the woods was horrifying to me.  Luckily my little sister Terri talked common sense into me through a text by telling me it was either the woods or my pants.  After waiting for almost 2 hours the woods won out.  John has never been more proud!

ak18

It was an awesome second day and I was exhausted after it was over.  Since we were stuck on the road for 4.5 hours I had to sleep part of the night in the truck.  We didn’t get home until 2 in the morning and John said that was the darkest he has ever seen it get there in Alaska was at 2:00 AM.

3 thoughts on “Alaska Day 2

  1. I do believe that your blog is probably the funniest thing I have ever seen! HILARIOUS!!! You take great pictures, I had no idea! Thanks for coming over today for dinner. We had some great laughs

  2. I can’t believe how much you packed into 2 days. I just keep reading your post thinking how AMAZING it is up there but I would have to go in the middle of who knows when if it’s not hot in July I don’t know if I could handle it! I love all your cute belly pictures! You are so cute!!

Leave a Reply

