Final Day in Alaska

On our final day we got up early again and put on our hiking clothes for one more fun hike in Alaska before I left.  We went to Thunderbird Falls and it was a great little hike and very pretty.  The mosquitoes however ate us alive, mostly John because he wouldn’t put his coat on that had a hood to cover his neck.  We were there so early that we had the place to ourselves which was great. 

ak39

ak49

ak47

ak50

ak48

ak1

ak4

ak3

While John got to hike to a spot that had a better view he wouldn’t let me come because it was really steep.  So instead I snuck down right by the river.  He was a little worried about how he was going to drag my pregnant self out of there but I had already found a quick easy way back up so he wasn’t too mad after that.

ak46 

After our hike we hurried and got ready for the day so we could run downtown again and see more of the shops.  We also went to a great restaurant for lunch and found a few souvenirs.

ak37

ak43

This is the lady who sells reindeer sausages.  John tried one and promised to never make me try it.  He is my taste tester, he always tries things first and he will tell me if I will like it or not.

ak36

I mentioned in my post yesterday about all the REAL fur around Alaska, well this day we went into a few of the retail shops to check it out again.  I have never seen or tried on real fur wraps and coats before, but I won’t lie, I am sold.  If I had one I would sleep in the stupid thing it is so nice and soft!

I don’t remember what dead animal this was made of, but it’s sure pretty huh?

ak38 by you.

This is the full length Mink coat I told John to buy me.  It really is very practical, I could wear it when we go out to dinner at Wendy’s and Chili’s and other fancy places like that.

ak45 by you.

He politely declined when he looked at the price tag. 

ak44

We didn’t take the Trolley because it took you on an hour long tour and we didn’t have time.

ak41

I love a good vintage sign.

ak42

And only in Alaska do you see someone walking their pet reindeer in the park.  If I would have had a video camera you could have seen the reindeer was actually walking him most of the time!

ak40

After downtown John made dinner for his boss Nan, her son, and for Mark, the guy that he is renting a room from in Alaska.  Mark and Nan are actually dating and Nan is the one who made it so John could live there for the summer which we greatly appreciated.  Here a few pictures of the condo.

IMG_6528 by you.

Mark builds and flys these little airplanes.

IMG_6527 by you.

John’s bathroom.

IMG_6523 by you.

Mark’s nice kitchen.

IMG_6522 by you.

John’s room.

IMG_6521 by you.

It was awesome to have a nice place to stay while I was there so we didn’t have to spend money on a hotel.  I had an amazing time getting to see my husband for a few days, and getting to see part of Alaska.  Next time I would like to stay for 2 weeks and really see it all.

3 thoughts on “Final Day in Alaska

  1. Okay, so I was gonna be funny and ask if you saw Sarah Palin, but wait… you did. Funny that your dad loves her! So does my dad, but probably not as much as Rob. Looks like you had so much fun. It’s beautiful up there. I would love to go some day. And, I love your weekly gut check. FUNNY!!! You are one hot prego lady! LOVE IT!!

  2. Carolyn your trip looked like so much fun. I’m glad you finally got there and you were able to enjoy your time with John.

Leave a Reply

