The End of an Era

So you know that Friends episode, the one where Rachel moves out so Chandler can move in?  I love that episode and it pretty much sums up how I am feeling right about now. 

It is definitely the end of an era for John and I, and we are moving into a new era.  No more last minute date nights with no planning involved, no more trips to the big city where we can spend all day and half  of the night shopping and eating out and just being alone together without another care in the world.  No more free nights away to wander the bookstore looking at magazines and stopping for treats on the way home, I mean we can have those, we will just have to pay a babysitter. 

So in a sense it is the end of an amazing 8+ year era for us.  We  love hanging out and just being together, and we always have.  We have never needed to have other people around to feel like we are doing something on the weekends, we have always been able to just be alone with each other and feel perfectly happy and content. 

Now that is going to change because we have a little tiny boy who is coming in a few weeks to crash our party, and while I can’t wait for him to come, there is a part of me that is sad.  A part of me that is going to miss the wonderful, blissful alone time that I was able to spend with my husband for so many years.  And while I have prayed, cried, and begged for my small boy for many years, I am getting a little nostalgic about our child free past.

So I have made a plan, and this is it.  I am going to go out with a bang.  Every weekend until baby comes John and I have plans to spend time alone together, just the 2 of us, hanging out and doing our favorite things.  Watchings movies for hours in bed, going to the bookstore, going out-of-town to eat at a fun restaurant, shopping at random times of the night.  We have it all planned out and I can’t wait.  It will be a fun last hurrah for us.  So if I don’t answer my phone much on the weekends, or text, don’t be offended.  After the baby comes and we settle into a new normal existence we will answer calls and texts again, I promise. 

us

Here we are last Friday ready for our date night.  John took me to see the theater production of The Crucible. 

2 thoughts on “The End of an Era

  1. Oh Carolyn… I love, love Friends and that episode! That’s so how me and one of my friends were when I got married!

    I’m excited for you!! Yes it’s the end of an era, but a new exciting one is waiting for you. You’ll be a great mom!

Leave a Reply

