A Snapshot of Life

When I bought a new calendar for 2010 I went through 2009 to copy down birthdays and such on my shiny new calendar.  While going through the last year I couldn’t help but feel a little nostalgic regarding 2009 and all of the events of that year.  It is stupid to keep calendars forever so I decided to take a few pictures of important dates and things that I had written down.

This is March 2009, down at the bottom you see that I have written November 10th, RR’s original due date.  I scribbled it down the day I found out I was pregnant.  After calling John at school, the next person I called was my sister Randa.  I was still crying too hard to think straight so she looked up my due date for me and I knew that if I didn’t write it down that second I would totally forget. 

c1

April 10th was my first official doctor’s appointment.  I had had a few other appointments before this one because of how long it took me to get pregnant, but it was a huge relief to make it to this appointment. 

c5

May 17th John flew to Alaska to live for the summer for his internship.  I drove him to Denver to the airport and I wouldn’t allow myself to cry until I got home.  Once I was home I lost it and had a good long cry for the night. 

c4

June 26th.  It was the first time I had seen my husband since he left in May.  He came home for the big ultrasound.  It was this day we found out we were having a baby boy.  It was a great weekend and it went too quickly.  Back to Alaska he went only 3 days later. 

c2

July 22nd and it was my turn to go and see Johnny.  One missed plane and a day later than was originally planned, and I finally made it to Anchorage.  I was 6 months pregnant and my belly had grown a lot since the last time John had seen me.  It was in Alaska on our boat trip around the harbor that he felt our baby kick for the first time. 

 

c7

In August John started his last year of Law School.  When this journey began we never thought we would see the beginning of the 3rd year, and now we are only weeks away from the end of it.  Crazy how time flies. 

C6

You can also see on each Tuesday I have written what week I was.  You would think I could do that on my own without a calendar, but I could hardly remember my own name when I was pregnant, so remembering what week I was without having a cheat would have been impossible.  

All I know is that 2009 was a really good year for me. 

3 thoughts on “A Snapshot of Life

  1. It was so fun to read your meaningful dates. My first baby, Cade, was due November 10th. I had him on the 8th. My ultrasound to find out gender was a day off, June 27th. Fun coincidences!

Leave a Reply

