Holy Long Day

Did anyone else have a crappy long day, or was it just me?  Just me huh?  Well this is how my day goes.  

5:10 my alarms goes off.  I pull my lazy tired ornery self out of bed.  I grab my blanket and drag it out to the living room.  I stumble and finally crash down on the couch were John is waiting for me with a pillow on his lap, as he does every morning.  He turns on the EARLY morning news as I try to convince myself to open my eyes. 

This continues on for 15 minutes before, grumbling again, I drag myself up, wrap that same stinkin blanket around me and make my way into my office where I check my blogs and celebrity gossip, which is my equivalent to a cup of coffee.  10-15 minutes of this and I am finally awake enough to shower and get ready for the day. 

I plug in my iPod and jam while I am showering and getting ready.  I have speakers in the bathroom for my iPod, it’s the greatest thing ever.  After staring blankly at my closet for what seems like ages I choose an outfit and throw it on.  By now I have wasted too much time and I am running very late.  I finish putting on my mascara which I always save as my very last thing to put on because it is such a pain.  I run to the kitchen where Johnny has my plate of scrambled egg whites waiting for me, they are usually cold by the time I get to them.   I scarf them down, pack my cheese stick, orange, and little carton of egg whites that Johnny has made me for lunch and run out the door.  It is now 6:55. 

I get to work by 7:00 which I love because I have the whole first hour to myself and it is quiet.  No phones are ringing, no one comes in, I can get more done in this first hour than I can all day sometimes. 

8:15-12:00 was a blur of annoyances, paperwork, phone calls, e-mails, and employees.  I am finally so frazzled and frustrated from sitting in my office which has no windows, nor is there even a window within viewing distance.  I have sat there all morning without hardly getting out of chair.  I am done.  I need to get out.  

I grab my coat, my wallet and I jet.  I am now on a mission.  There is a candy shop just 4 blocks away from my office and the homemade caramels they have there are beckoning me.  Before I leave I check the weather.  34 degrees, but it feels like 12.  Oh yeah and 38 mph winds.  I can take it, I need those caramels too bad to not risk it.  The walk down felt like I was in a wind tunnel, but I pressed forward.  My ears were throbbing by the time I made it there. 

“I would like 6 of those caramels” I tell the cashier.  She rings me up, $7.50 please she asks.  Totally worth the $1.25 a caramel, I would have paid triple that today if I had to.  “Are these a gift” says the sweet candy lady.  “Nope these are for me because it has been a long day at work” I say.  She gets really flustered and embarrassed, I don’t, I laughed I thought it was funny.  I honestly just purchased 6 huge caramels, it is only natural to think they would be a gift.  But they were not, they were for me.  Well me and John, he works where I do, so I shared 2 with him.  I have to ration them out.  I need these babies to last me through Friday.  

It melts in my mouth and suddenly my day gets brighter.  I enjoy it while I can, 5:10 A.M. comes too soon and it all starts over again.  I am trapped in the movie Groundhog Day.